Posted on

Blue Hawaii : In Two

Track artwork

Two years after their debut EP Blooming Summer, Montreal’s Blue Hawaii – the duo of Alexander Cowan and Braids vocalist Raphaelle Standell-Preston – finally have their debut album, Untogether, ready for a January release on Arbutus Records. Label alumnus Grimes is already hyping the record up, and advance single “In Two” gives some idea as to why; with its throbbing electro bass and skipping techno-lite beat, the two-part track (hear “Part II” here) shares some obvious common ground with Ms. Boucher’s recent Visions LP, which is certainly no bad thing. Listen to “Part I” below.

About foamhands

My name is Michael Dix; I'm a decade or so past being down with the kids, but to me new music never gets old. Apparently I like music that sounds like faulty kitchen appliances and ritual slaughter; really I just like what I like, whether that happens to be indie, pop, punk, hip hop, metal, electronica, jazz, global sounds or whatever. Here to share the occasional random brain-fart, and links to what I consider to be music worth listening to. Enjoy!

Leave a comment