Posted on

THEESatisfaction :awE naturalE

Just a real quick post this morning as I have just finished a full-length review of this album for the Quietus, which I will link to in due course… THEESatisfaction are the ladies whose honeyed tones and needle-sharp rapping you will have heard backing Ishmael Butler on my favourite album of 2011, Shabazz Palaces’ Black Up. If that record was an Afro-futurist acid-trip into the heart of the mind’s eye, then the self-produced debut full-length from Stasia Irons and Catherine Harris-White – awE naturalE, out April 9 on Sub Pop – is more of a stoned Sunday morning picnic, drawing from the softer, sunnier sides of ’60s and ’70s funk, soul and jazz as well as the conscious, “peace and love” rap of hip hop’s Daisy Age. It’s every bit as infectious as Black Up, and a genuine contender for this year’s top spot. Stream the album in full  over at NPR now, and keep an eye out for my Quietus review which will be online in a couple of weeks.

About foamhands

My name is Michael Dix; I'm a decade or so past being down with the kids, but to me new music never gets old. Apparently I like music that sounds like faulty kitchen appliances and ritual slaughter; really I just like what I like, whether that happens to be indie, pop, punk, hip hop, metal, electronica, Afrobeat or jazz. Follow me on Twitter @FoamHandsBlog to receive notifications of new posts and the occasional random brain-fart, and please share links wherever you can. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

