Posted on

At The Drive In : One Armed Scissor # The Field Remix

Listen: At the Drive-In's

Talk about a WTF moment. It’s hard to think of two more different sounds than the late-’90s post-hardcore of El Paso’s At The Drive-In and The Field’s softly hypnotic, Teutonic techno, but here they are together and I’ll just be damned if they don’t go together brilliantly, with Axel Willner stretching out the original‘s twisted metallic shards and shifting the focus onto the build-up rather than the release. The remix appears on the B-side of the “One Armed Scissor” 12″, which is being released via Transgressive on May 13; ATD-I’s final album, 2000’s Relationship Of Command, from which the song is taken, is being reissued on April 22, and will be released on limited edition coloured vinyl for Record Store Day.
.

About foamhands

My name is Michael Dix; I'm a decade or so past being down with the kids, but to me new music never gets old. Apparently I like music that sounds like faulty kitchen appliances and ritual slaughter; really I just like what I like, whether that happens to be indie, pop, punk, hip hop, metal, electronica, Afrobeat or jazz. Follow me on Twitter @FoamHandsBlog to receive notifications of new posts and the occasional random brain-fart, and please share links wherever you can. Enjoy!

One response to “At The Drive In : One Armed Scissor # The Field Remix

  1. howellb1

    This is awesome. I was always partial to ATDI over the Mars Volta, great to hear them getting updated many years later.

Leave a Reply

