Posted on

Track of the day : Touche Amore : Just Exist

JUST EXIST official single cover - Instant download when you pre-order IS SURVIVED BY on iTunes - iTunes Pre-order: http://goo.gl/VgppWh 

L.A. post-hardcore tykes Touche Amore are set to release their third album Is Survived By on September 24 via Deathwish Inc., the label run by Converge’s Jacob Bannon that has already put out the year’s best metal (or post-metal, or whatever) LP, Deafheaven’s Sunbather. Lead single “Just Exist” finds frontman Jeremy Bolm pondering mortality and the legacy he will leave behind, opening with the wordy couplet “I was once asked how I’d like to be remembered/ And I simply smiled and said ‘I’d rather stay forever’” before arriving at his titular – and more to-the-point – conclusion two blistering minutes later. Veteran producer Brad Wood (Smashing Pumpkins, Liz Phair, Sunny Day Real Estate) has streamlined the five-piece’s sound to some extent, but thankfully he hasn’t filed down the serrated edge the screamo kids love so much, making for a bracing and ultimately uplifting new national anthem for today’s disenchanted youth. Check it out below.

About foamhands

My name is Michael Dix; I'm a decade or so past being down with the kids, but to me new music never gets old. Apparently I like music that sounds like faulty kitchen appliances and ritual slaughter; really I just like what I like, whether that happens to be indie, pop, punk, hip hop, metal, electronica, Afrobeat or jazz. Follow me on Twitter @FoamHandsBlog to receive notifications of new posts and the occasional random brain-fart, and please share links wherever you can. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

