Posted on

Track of the day : Isaiah Rashad : I Shot You Down

21 year-old Chattanooga, Tennessee MC Isaiah Rashad signed with Top Dawg Ent. back in June, which – given the calibre of his new label-mates (Kendrick Lamar, Ab Soul, ScHoolBoy Q and Jay Rock) – might seem to some like dropping a kitten into a pit with a pride of lions and telling him to prove himself. Luckily this cat has claws, and a pretty mighty roar to boot. On “I Shot You Down”, the first track he has released since his signing, Rashad animatedly dismisses the industry’s “bitch-ass rappers“, “sensitive n***as” (a veiled pop at… who, I wonder?) and overnight sensations (“Get caught up in the hype/ Your career is for a night“) over a chilled-out backdrop of jazzy flutes, noodling guitar and pitter-pattering drums, before easing into a dancehall-influenced sing-song outro. Fighting talk, perhaps, but Rashad gives the impression he can handle his business; check out the video below.

About foamhands

My name is Michael Dix; I'm a decade or so past being down with the kids, but to me new music never gets old. Apparently I like music that sounds like faulty kitchen appliances and ritual slaughter; really I just like what I like, whether that happens to be indie, pop, punk, hip hop, metal, electronica, Afrobeat or jazz. Follow me on Twitter @FoamHandsBlog to receive notifications of new posts and the occasional random brain-fart, and please share links wherever you can. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

