Posted on

Spoon: They Want My Soul

Spoon - They Want My Soul
.
Spoon don’t seem to be particularly big on surprises: let’s be honest, at this point – 20 years (!) and eight albums in – you pretty much know exactly what you’re going to get when Britt Daniel and friends decide to release a new record. Luckily, that just happens to be weapons grade indie rock, perfectly-formed alternative anthems so precise and powerful they could whip the tongues from the mouths of anyone dumb enough to question the relevance of the good old-fashioned guitar/ bass/ drums/ keyboard set up in today’s musical climate at fifty paces. Predictably then, They Want My Soul (out August 4 via Loma Vista) is another excellent offering, with all the band’s different sides – minimal hard rockers, shimmering ballads, taut funk and soulful, sugary pop – more than adequately represented and their straight-talking brand of gut-punch power pop in no danger whatsoever of getting old just yet. Check out 3/5 of the album’s A-side – opener “Rent I Pay”, “Inside Out” and “Do You” – below, and stream the whole thing in advance via iTunes Radio.
.

.

.

About foamhands

My name is Michael Dix; I'm a decade or so past being down with the kids, but to me new music never gets old. Apparently I like music that sounds like faulty kitchen appliances and ritual slaughter; really I just like what I like, whether that happens to be indie, pop, punk, hip hop, metal, electronica, Afrobeat or jazz. Follow me on Twitter @FoamHandsBlog to receive notifications of new posts and the occasional random brain-fart, and please share links wherever you can. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

