Posted on

Duppy Gun Productions: Multiply Vol. 1

https://ia902604.us.archive.org/10/items/mbid-19f88fbc-faad-4ad0-be31-7b109bebd663/mbid-19f88fbc-faad-4ad0-be31-7b109bebd663-8852188201.jpg
.
From the label:
.
Duppy Gun is an “Outer-Orbit” Dancehall label and production team founded and operated by Cameron Stallones (Sun Araw) and M. Geddes Gengras. Stallones and Gengras ferry a growing family of Duppy Gun producers including Peaking Lights, Sun Araw, M. Geddes Gengras, Matthewdavid, Alex Gray (D/P/I), Butchy Fuego (San Gabriel) and more to Jamaica and record vocalists wherever they are able to find talent and an electrical outlet.
.
The label’s origins, recounted by Stallones: “In 2011 a man approached me, gestured to a red, green, and gold-painted hole into a parallel life, and suggested I step through it I did. One of the main products of that decision was a record called Icon Give Thank, a collection of music created while living and recording with The Congos in Portmore, Jamaica. A little later, that ball rolled a little farther and Ged and I decided to self-manufacture a 12-inch record, and to everyone’s great advantage, Stones Throw Records white-knighted the whole shebang and agreed to help with the tasks in which we had proved incompetent. And so Duppy Gun Productions was born proper.”
.
The full-length album Multiply, Duppy Gun Prod. Vol. 1 collects their work to date – a multi-producer, multi-artist double-album compilation of selections with Jamaican vocalists I Jahbar, Early One, Fyah Flames, Dayone, G Sudden, Lukan I, Bookfa, Singin’ Crazy, and Cerassietea.”
.
Multiply Vol. 1 is out now; listen to “Mad” ft. Early One & I Jahbar below.
.
https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/172016288

About foamhands

My name is Michael Dix; I'm a decade or so past being down with the kids, but to me new music never gets old. Apparently I like music that sounds like faulty kitchen appliances and ritual slaughter; really I just like what I like, whether that happens to be indie, pop, punk, hip hop, metal, electronica, jazz, global sounds or whatever. Here to share the occasional random brain-fart, and links to what I consider to be music worth listening to. Enjoy!

Leave a comment